2018 Review

Our Revised Proposals are now available for comment.  The eight-week consultation ends on Monday 26 March 2018.  Please submit comments at our online consultation portal: www.bcni2018.uk. Further details below.

The 2018 Review of Parliamentary constituencies started on 24 February 2016. In accordance with schedule 2 of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2011, the number of Parliamentary constituencies across the UK will reduce to 600. In Northern Ireland, the decrease will be from 18 seats to 17 at the next Westminster elections, expected in 2020. This will mean redrawing the existing constituency boundaries.

The Commission is required to submit its report on final recommendations to the Secretary of State for Northern Ireland no later than 1 October 2018.

Revised Proposals

In light of the evidence collected during the Initial and Secondary Consultations, the Commission has produced Revised Proposals for the Parliamentary constituencies in Northern Ireland. This latest and final consultation seeks views from the public on these Revised Proposals.

The Commission will consider all representations received during this 8 week consultation period.  There will be no public hearings during this consultation.

How to respond

Complete our online consultation at www.bcni2018.uk

Email your views to: review@boundarycommission.org.uk

Post your views to: Boundary Commission for Northern Ireland, The Bungalow, Stormont House, Stormont Estate, Belfast, BT4 3SH

Provisional Proposals

The Boundary Commission published its Provisional Proposals on 6th September 2016 for an initial consultation period of 12 weeks.  Information made available during that consultation can be found below.  A number of public hearings were also undertaken during the consultation period.  

Secondary Consultation

A Secondary Consultation was held between 5 September 2017 and 2 October 2017.  This was the public's opportunity to view and comment on the responses submitted to the Commission's Provisional Proposals for 17 Parliamentary constituencies in Northern Ireland.  

Secondary Consultation responses